The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s (SAMHSA) Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) is accepting applications for the 2015 – 2017 Prevention Fellowship Program.

The SAMHSA CSAP Prevention Fellowship Program was launched in 2006 in an effort to build a workforce of substance abuse professionals. During the 2-year fellowship program, which combines Web‐based and in-person trainings, fellows improve their skills and their knowledge of prevention practices. During their Prevention Fellowship Program experience, fellows focus on acquiring the necessary skills for success in the fields of substance abuse prevention and behavioral health. Prevention Fellowship Program prepares fellows to provide capacity-building Technical Assistance (TA) to support integration of behavioral health prevention services in their state/territories. This is part of SAMHSA’s support for integrating policies and programs related to prevention and behavioral health promotion in states, U.S. territories, and local organizations.

Fellows will benefit from hands-on experience and trainings in competency areas such as behavioral health promotion, the Strategic Prevention Framework, community organization, public policy and environmental change, program planning, and evaluation. Fellows will learn new techniques, master best practices in the field, and apply knowledge gained from their professional and cultural experiences.

The Prevention Fellowship Program seeks qualified individuals who are looking for professional growth in the field of substance abuse prevention. Fellows will receive a yearly stipend of up to $37,000, and will be required to work 32 hours per week. These individuals will be assigned to mentors from participating State agencies across the United States and U.S. Territories and Pacific Jurisdictions. Fellows will be accepted on a location-by-location basis.

Applications are being accepted by the following participating states/territories:

  • Alaska (Anchorage)*
  • Delaware (New Castle)**
  • Guam (Tamuning)**
  • Illinois (Chicago)*
  • Indiana (Indianapolis)*
  • Louisiana (Baton Rouge)*
  • Michigan (Lansing)*
  • Montana (Helena)*
  • N. Mariana Islands (Saipan)*
  • NASADAD (Washington DC)*
  • Ohio (Columbus)*
  • Pennsylvania (Harrisburg)*
  • Rhode Island (Cranston)*
  • Texas (Austin)*
  • Utah (Salt Lake City)**
  • Vermont (Burlington)*
  • Virginia (Richmond)*
  • Washington (Olympia)*

*Priority Sites are those eligible States, U.S. Territories/Pacific Jurisdictions, and Organizations that have first-right-of-refusal to select a fellow for their location.

**Alternative Sites will be considered in the event a Priority Site opts out of participation in the fellowship.

WHO CAN APPLY:: Individuals seeking selection into the Prevention Fellowship Program must meet the following criteria and provide associated documentation:

  1. U.S. Citizenship or U.S. Territories and Pacific Jurisdictions residency;
  2. Must meet at least one (1) of the following education/work experience:
    1. At least two (2) years of college from an accredited academic institution and a minimum of two (2) years paid work experience in public health, behavioral health, clinical or social science areas; or
    2. a Bachelors degree or higher from an accredited college or university with an emphasis in public health, behavioral health, clinical or social science areas;
  3. two letters of recommendation from an academic and/or professional reference;
  4. a detailed essay of 500 words or less on why the candidate should be selected for the fellowship and how becoming a Certified Prevention Specialist would support his or her career goals; and
  5. a strong interest in the substance abuse prevention and behavioral health.

Applications must be completed and submitted by Friday, August 14, 2015. To apply, complete and submit the online application, visit

Selected candidates are expected to begin the Prevention Fellowship Program on September 16, 2015.

Applicants will be notified of their selection status on or before Friday, September 4, 2015.